What are the governing standards for passive data systems?

The most dominant standards for passive data systems, i.e. structured cabling, are the American ANSI/TIA-568 and the international ISO/IEC 11801. Both standards are internationally accepted with some differences between the two. In general, the ANSI/TIA-568 is more stringent than the ISO/IEC 11801.


The commercial building telecommunications cabling standard (ANSI/TIA-568) is a telecommunication standard developed by the Telecommunications Industry Association (TIA). The TIA is accredited by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI) as a Standards Developing Organization (SDO). The standard specifies the supported cable distances, bending radius of cables, accepted loss, grounding and bonding, and transmission parameters of both copper and fiber structured cabling systems. The standard also defines the categories of cables and pin-to-pair assignment between connectors and cables (T568A and T568B). The standard is widely adopted in North America and in many other parts of the world.

ISO/IEC 11801

The ISO/IEC 11801 stands for the Information Technology Generic Cabling for Customer Premises. It was developed by the joint technical committee of the International Organization for Standardization (ISO) and the International Electrotechnical Commission (IEC). The ISO/IEC specifies standards for balanced copper, coaxial, and fiber systems. The standard adheres to European and International best practices. The last revision was made in 2017.

Cable Categories as per ISO/IEC and ANSI/TIA

Related Articles

Leave A Comment?