Winners of the British Security Awards 2019 revealed

Andy Gilmore, AAI Security Systems (left) receives Contribution to the Industry award; Jane Moore (middle); Simon Young, exhibition director, fire and security, Informa Markets (right)

The national winners of the British Security Awards 2019 have been announced.

Organised by the British Security Industry Association (BSIA), the awards were handed out at the London Grosvenor Marriott Hotel, Grosvenor Square, London on 10 July.

Fifteen categories included the return of the BSIA Chairman’s Award, presented by group MD of CSL and BSIA chairman Simon Banks, plus security personnel categories extolling the bravery exhibited by security personnel in protecting the public, aiding police investigations and sometimes even saving lives.

The security personnel categories comprised National and International Partnership, Innovative Security Project, SME and Business of the Year and Contribution to the Industry.

Journalist and broadcaster Jane Moore presented the overall event, with Assistant Chief Constable of the West Midlands Police Sarah Boycott handing out the Bravery Awards. It was the first time in the awards’ history, spanning more than two decades, that both headline speakers have been female.

“The British Security Awards is a major celebration in the security industry calendar that recognises the talent and commitment of our industry’s finest,” said Mike Reddington, chief executive of the BSIA.

“We have an industry fit to burst with positive ambassadors from within our sector; from young officers starting out to seasoned professionals – every one of them recognised today for having gone above and beyond expectations, demonstrating courage, innovation, customer service and contribution to the industry.

“Today’s winners and finalists should be very proud of their achievements, as indeed both we and the industry they represent are in rewarding them today.”

British Security Awards 2019 winners:

  • Lauren Summers (VSG) – Best Newcomer
  • Jim Mills (Project Vision – G4S) – Best Use of Technology
  • David Rutwaza (G4S) – Outstanding Act
  • Steve Allen (Westgrove Group) – Service to the Customer
  • Eurostar Security Team (Mitie) – Best Team
  • Sam Howard (EFT Systems) – Apprentice of the Year
  • Concept Smoke Screen (Sentinel Connect) – International Partnership
  • Selectamark Security Systems (SelectaDNA) – Innovative Security Project
  • The Security Institute & Volunteer Police Cadets – National Partnership
  • CSL Group – SME of the Year
  • Securitas UK – Business of the Year
  • Andy Gilmore (AAI Security Systems) – Contribution to the industry
  • Surrendra Chongbang (Loomis) – Bravery Award (Industry)
  • Krzysztof Gacki, Radu Brad, Domas Bagdonavicius – Bravery Award (Public)
  • David Snook – BSIA Chairman’s Award

Find out more about the winners and finalists.


Chance to win an Amazon Alexa Dot: Just complete this short Barbour survey!

This survey is designed to gather insight into the fire & security profession in relation to how information is specifically used in each role.

The survey should take around 5 minutes to complete and all completed entries will be placed into a prize draw, the winner of which will claim an Amazon Alexa Dot. The survey closes on Sunday 7 July 2019.

The post Winners of the British Security Awards 2019 revealed appeared first on IFSEC Global | Security and Fire News and Resources.

Leave A Comment?